This Week
  • UTC Retail Inc. grabbed the top spot on the 2014 Rochester Top 100.

  • Jean Maess is the site executive for Thomson Reuters, a top local employer.

  • UTC Retail Inc. grabbed the top spot on the 2014 Rochester Top 100.

  • Kelby Russell wants you to know: Local wines are among the world's finest.

  • The nominees for the upcoming 2014 Philanthropy Awards are profiled.

  • WebTitle Agency continues to grow following its 2012 merger with Customized Lenders Services.

Finalists chosen for 17th annual Best of the Web

Rochester Business Journal
February 7, 2014

Nearly 40 websites have been chosen as finalists in the Rochester Business Journal’s 17th Best of the Web competition.

Launched in 1996, the Best of the Web program recognizes the leading efforts among area businesses and non-profits that have a presence on the Internet. This year’s competition includes a new category: Best Mobile (smartphone).

In addition, Digital Rochester again will present its Business Transformation Award to recognize a local organization that has transformed its business through use of the Internet.

Readers submitted nearly 200 nominations for the 2014 competition. A panel of judges selected by the newspaper evaluates finalists based on content, usefulness, navigability, use of technology, design quality, e-commerce and likelihood of repeat visits.

The 13 category winners—and the gold, silver and bronze overall winners—will be announced at an awards breakfast at 7:30 a.m. March 13 at the Hyatt Regency Rochester.

The following are the 2014 Best of the Web finalists:


Banking and finance
Canandaigua National Bank (cnbank.com)
Five Star Bank (five-starbank.com)
Genesee Regional Bank (grbbank.com)

Business and professional services
Globalinx (globalinx.com)
PICS Telecom International (picstelecom.com)
US Sweepstakes (ussweeps.com)

Cultural
FuturPointe Dance (futurpointe.org)
Writers & Books (wab.org)
Spectrum Creative Arts (spectrumcreativearts.org)

Education
Monroe Community College (monroecc.edu)
Our Lady of Mercy (mercyhs.com)
The Harley School (harleyschool.org)

Government/community
Fairport Public Library (fairportlibrary.org)
KidsOutAndAbout.com (kidsoutandabout.com)
Rochester Subway (rochestersubway.com)

Health care
CURE Childhood Cancer Association (curekidscancer.com)
Regional Primary Care Network (rpcn.org)
VisualDx (visualdx.com)

Human services

Bivona Child Advocacy Center (bivonacac.org)
Regional Center for Independent Living (rcil.org)
St. John’s Senior Services Inc. (stjohns-living.org)

Legal services
Hiscock & Barclay LLP (hblaw.com)
Nixon Peabody International LLP (nixonpeabody.com)
Underberg & Kessler LLP (underbergkessler.com)

Manufacturing
Carestream Health (carestream.com)
Hammer Packaging (hammerpackaging.com)
Klein Steel Service (kleinsteel.com)

Real estate and construction
Broadstone Real Estate LLC (broadstone.com)
Rocket Commercial Real Estate LLC (gorocket.com)
The Reserve on the Erie Canal (brightonreserve.com)

Retail
Dead Ringer (deadringerhunting.com)
Iron Smoke Whiskey (ironsmokewhiskey.com)
Muesli Fusion (mueslifusion.com)

Tourism/hospitality
CB Craft Brewers (cbcraftbrewers.com)
OnCell (oncell.com)
James Brown’s Place (jamesbrownsplace.com)

Best Mobile (smartphone)
Intrinsiq Materials Inc. (intrinsiqmaterials.com)
L-Tron Corp. (l-tron.com)
Seabreeze Amusement Park (seabreeze.com)

Digital Rochester’s Business Transformation Award will be given to a Rochester-area firm that has transformed its business with the Web. Past finalists and winners have demonstrated business success gained by using the Web for strategic growth, harnessing cutting-edge technology in website launches, mastering unique Web functionality or making a significant impact on the organization through the exploration of online technologies.

Digital Rochester Transformation Award finalists:
George Eastman Circle (georgeeastmancircle.com)
NextStepU (nextstepu.com)
Passero Associates (passero.com)

This year’s competition is sponsored by Frontier Communications, Mason Digital and Digital Rochester.

For additional information, contact Melissa Wilson at events@rbj.net. Tickets for the awards breakfast are available online at go.rbj.net/bestoftheweb.

2/7/14 (c) 2014 Rochester Business Journal. To obtain permission to reprint this article, call 585-546-8303 or email service@rbj.net.


What You're Saying 

There are no comments yet. Be the first to add yours!

Post Your Own Comment

 
Username:
Password:

Not registered? Sign up now!
 

To Do   Text Size
Post CommentPost A Comment eMail Size1
View CommentsView All Comments PrintPrint Size2
ReprintsReprints Size3
  • E-mailed
  • Commented
  • Viewed
RBJ   Google