This Week
  • Buckingham, Morgan to buy Midtown facility for $5M

  • Online training proving effective at area companies

  • CEO Sameer Penakalapati has grown Avani Technology Solutions

  • Repeat business drives dealership's sales.

  • Chiropractor Melinda Houle helps clients adjust.

  • The Health Care Achievement Awards 2017 supplement.

Class of 2014 set for fall induction in Hall of Fame

Rochester Business Journal
July 25, 2014

Five Rochester-area businesspeople have been selected for induction into the Rochester Business Hall of Fame this fall.

The 2014 inductees are:

  •  Paul DeCarolis, chairman, DeCarolis Truck Rental Inc.;
  •  Jane Glazer, CEO, QCI Direct;
  •  Robert Hopkins, co-founder, and John Bruning, retired president and CEO, Corning Tropel Corp.; and
  •  Claude H. Wright, CEO, Wright Beverage Distributing.

An event to honor the 2014 inductees is scheduled for Oct. 7 at the Rochester Riverside Convention Center.

DeCarolis heads the company started by his father, Louis DeCarolis, during the Great Depression. The firm provides truck rental and leasing and specialized transportation services to customers in Western and Central New York. It has more than 550 employees.

Glazer started her firm in 1983. Today it has roughly 110 employees and sells to more than 1 million customers nationwide each year.

Hopkins, a distinguished professor and director of the Institute of Optics at the University of Rochester, co-founded Tropel in 1953. Under Hopkins, who was president from 1967 to 1972, Tropel became an industry leader in precision optics. Bruning later guided the firm’s growth and established it as a leader in optical lithography.

Wright runs the company his father co-founded. Revenues have topped $100 million in the past three years, and Wright Beverage Distributing now employs some 300 people, mostly in the Rochester area.

The Hall of Fame is presented by Junior Achievement of Rochester New York Area Inc., the Rochester Business Journal and the Rochester Museum & Science Center, which has an exhibit on the inductees.

Launched in 2001, the Hall of Fame is designed to honor successful businesspeople who have made extraordinary contributions, both business and personal, to the Greater Rochester community. They are chosen by the Hall of Fame Committee, which is advised by an independent group including past inductees.

The 2013 inductees were Lauren Dixon, CEO, and Michael Schwabl, president, Dixon Schwabl Inc.; Joseph Harris, founder and former president, and Selah Harris, Margaret Harris Sheldon and Joseph Harris, former presidents, of Harris Seeds; Robert Morgan, chairman and CEO, Morgan Management Inc.; and Dilip Vellodi, chairman and CEO, Sutherland Global Services Inc.

7/25/14 (c) 2014 Rochester Business Journal. To obtain permission to reprint this article, call 585-546-8303 or email

What You're Saying 

There are no comments yet. Be the first to add yours!

Post Your Own Comment


Not registered? Sign up now!

To Do   Text Size
Post CommentPost A Comment eMail Size1
View CommentsView All Comments PrintPrint Size2
ReprintsReprints Size3
  • E-mailed
  • Commented
  • Viewed
RBJ   Google