This Week
  • Buckingham, Morgan to buy Midtown facility for $5M

  • Online training proving effective at area companies

  • CEO Sameer Penakalapati has grown Avani Technology Solutions

  • Repeat business drives dealership's sales.

  • Chiropractor Melinda Houle helps clients adjust.

  • The Health Care Achievement Awards 2017 supplement.

MCC's Kress named Athena Award recipient

Click to enlarge
Monroe Community College President Anne Kress received the 2013 Athena Award.
Rochester Business Journal
January 24, 2013

Monroe Community College President Anne Kress Thursday received the 2013 Athena Award.
As MCC's fifth president, Kress leads a multi-campus college that serves close to 37,000 students each year. In her three years there, she has initiated programs, including the inaugural Essential Discussions: Conversations at MCC, a colloquium designed to exchange ideas and identify innovative models.

“Women can do everything,” said Kress in her acceptance speech, adding she “wouldn’t be here if it weren’t for the incredible people at MCC.”
She also credited the other Athena finalists for their work. The group of finalists is indicative of the community, Kress said.

Given by the Women's Council, an affiliate of the Rochester Business Alliance Inc., the Athena Award recognizes women who best reflect the values of business achievement and community service. These women also support others in their attainment of professional excellence and leadership skills. It is the 27th year for the Rochester award program. The finalists were honored at the annual Athena Awards luncheon at the Rochester Riverside Convention Center.
The other 2013 finalists were:

  • Rachel Baker August, executive director, Seneca Park Zoo Society
  • Dianne Cooney Miner, founding dean, Wegmans School of Nursing, St. John Fisher College
  • Jane Glazer, founder, president and CEO, QCI Direct
  • Roberta Goheen, president and CEO, Synthesis Management Group
  • Dolores Kruchten, president, document imaging, Eastman Kodak Co.
  • Elizabeth Lattimore, child administrative officer, Golisano Children’s Hospital
  • Debra Martin, assistant attorney general in charge, New York State Office of the Attorney General
  • Suzanne Nasipak-Chapman, market executive and regional director, First Niagara Financial Group
  • Kathy Palokoff, president and CEO, Customericity
  • Kimberly Puglia, director, Excellus Inc.
  • Susan Roberts, executive vice president and chief compliance officer, Bausch & Lomb Inc.
  • Ginny Ryan, news anchor/reporter. WHAM TV-13
  • Christine Wagner, executive director, St. Joseph’s Neighborhood Center
  • Laurie Zaucha, vice president, human resources and organizational development, Paychex Inc.

Last year's Athena Award recipient was orthopedic surgeon Judith Baumhauer M.D. She is the associate chairwoman of academic affairs in the department of orthopaedics at the University of Rochester Medical Center and longtime leader of the department's ankle division.
Baumhauer, the first female president of the Eastern Orthopaedic Association, has been credited with bringing a dramatic turnaround to the UR's foot and ankle division.
Kress joins two other local college presidents who have won the award. Rose Marie Beston, president of Nazareth College of Rochester, received it in 1988, and in 2001 the award was given to Katherine Keough, president of St. John Fisher College.

 (c) 2013 Rochester Business Journal. To obtain permission to reprint this article, call 585-546-8303 or email

What You're Saying 

There are no comments yet. Be the first to add yours!

Post Your Own Comment


Not registered? Sign up now!

To Do   Text Size
Post CommentPost A Comment eMail Size1
View CommentsView All Comments PrintPrint Size2
ReprintsReprints Size3
  • E-mailed
  • Commented
  • Viewed
RBJ   Google